When i was young i used to help my youngest brother to study math. He was around 6.

PierG: “ok bro, we have read this exercise: explain me what you have understood”

Brother :”oh yes .. yes … I have to use the ‘+‘ ”

PierG: “may be but please, explain me what you have understood and what you think about what should be done”

Brother: “oh no no no … I have to use the ‘‘ ”

PierG: “I don’t care now about the operation, why don’t you tell me what you have read, what you are thinking on how to solve this exercise”

Brother: “ok ok ok I’ve understodd … I have to use the ‘x‘ ”

So procedures are extremely important but when you study math you can learn which formula (procedure) to apply when, or you can understand math: while there is value in procedures, I value ‘understanding the principles’ more.

PierG