Last Friday was the last day of kindergarten for my son: starting from September he will go to school.

When we arrived at the kindergarten he was surprisingly sad: he grabbed me, hugged me, he held me tight. After few seconds I said ‘Giammy it’s time to go for me’ … ‘I have to go’ … ‘I have to go to work now or I’ll be late’ … but no answer and no change in his behavior. For minutes he stayed hooked to my leg.

So I set down and said ‘ok, I will not leave until you are ready. Do YOU want to tell me when you are ready?’. He nodded.

After few seconds (much less than expected) he let me go and said ‘ok, you can go now’ and run to play with some friends.

The simple fact that I offered him the power to choose, moved him from his current status to a more ‘solution oriented’ frame. Can you imagine a situation in which you can use this strategy?

PierG

p.s. To tell the truth, I did all this stuff in an unconscious way: I realized it just after analyzing what had happened. Cool🙂