Thanks to the Lean Manufacturing Blog, Kaizen Articles and Advice | Gemba Panta Rei I’ve discoverd this interesting book: The Checklist Manifesto: How to Get Things Right by Dr. Atul Gawande.

The Checklist Manifesto

The book is short, easy to read, filled with stories that open our eyes to the realities of how medicine is practiced in surgical theaters around the world. The book is also a personal journey from skepticism to belief, one that many of us leading or having gone through a lean transformation can relate closely to. The trip Dr. Gawande made to Boeing to learn from aviation checklist experts and how he subsequently applied this learning is also fascinating. The book gave me a new appreciation for how hard it can be to write a good checklist, as well as the importance of checklists as opportunities to communicate, rather than simply police and catch errors. Aside from being sold once again on the value of checklists and the urgency of spreading the practical message of lean to healthcare and other critical fields as soon as possible, the book left me with three gems which caused me to think.

If you want to make me a gift: I will accept this book🙂

PierG