image
By uncwshelley

During my commute, I was listening to the radio. I was not focused at all to what the radio was playing while I got hit by something … a commercial!

Speaker <<My mom used to say it about the undershirt>>
Mom <<You can’t get out without it>>
Speaker <<My friends used to say it about the bike>>
Friend <<You can’t get out without it>>
Speaker <<My boss used to say it about the tie>>
Boss <<You can’t get out without it>>
Speaker … commercial message … <<You can’t get out without it>>

In the plot I was not the target of the message but what my mind unconsciously heard was a clear message <<YOU can’t get out without it>>

Very powerful technique! It’s a mix of what are called ’embedded commands’ and ‘yes set’ pattern.

The only small complain I make is that they’d better use a non negative sentence. Our brain doesn’t cope very well with negative stuff. If I write <<think at a blue tree>>, you imagine (so you DO think at) a blue tree and then you try not to think at it🙂

So a even better message might have been <<You need it to get out>> <<You must have it to get out>> or something like that.

PierG