I read a post some days ago called: Age and Agile are Orthogonal.

It touched me because, as you know if you read my blog, I’m getting old 🙂

This post is about hiring for an agile team and about a comment of a recruiter:

One of the managers said he looked for people under 40, because otherwise the candidate was “too old.”

My opinion is that it’s harder to change when you are too used to ‘another way’ of doing things.

So if you have been writing software as a professional for 10 years with a waterfall methodology, and you think you are VERY good in your job (do you know an experienced programmer thinking he is NOT the best programmer in the planet? 🙂 ), why should you change?

That’s way if age is not a problem, attitude is.

And … yes 😦 (my) experience says that it’s easier to find “attitude to change” in :

  • VERY young people (at the beginning of their carrier) because, I think, they have ‘less to change’ or ‘less to lose’
  • or VERY experienced people because they are so bored of what’s not working that they will to change.

PierG