I was tired in my harm chair after the World Cup 2006 Final: Italy – France. Tired as if I were playing

I’m Italian, so I was thinking at how hard we played ’till the end even if we surely were VERY tired after the semi-final with Germany.

And I remembered a part of the speech of “Any Given Sunday” when Al Pacino, the coach, talks to the team just before THE match:

<< You know, when you get old  … you find out life?s this game of inches. So is football. Because in either game, life or football, the margin for error is so small — I mean one-half a step too late, or too early, and you don?t quite make it. One-half second too slow, too fast, you don?t quite catch it.
… because we know when we add up all those inches that?s gonna make the fxxxxxg difference between winning and losing! Between livin’ and dyin’! >>

As Al Pacino says, this is true for football (ok, he talks about American football and here we talk about soccer) AND life: and this is a good lesson to remember in management too.

PierG

powered by IMHO 1.3

